Home » Uncategorized » 3 Little Points

3 Little Points

Four years ago today I had a cold, just an ordinary cold. By the end of the month, instead of it being a cold that I couldn’t shake off (as I thought) it had turned into something really nasty that basically started attacking me. I’m not going to go into detail because it was pretty grim but it resulted in 7 weeks in hospital 3 of them in the Critical Care Unit.

I remember one particular day when I was alone in a side ward looking out of the window onto a flat roof covered in pigeon poo when I thought about the book that I had stashed away in a computer file at home. That was the day that I vowed that when I got out of the situation I was in I would do something about it. That was the day that I realised that if there’s something you want to do you’d better get on and do it because our link to life is fragile.

This week, four years on I was at the hospital again. I was seeing one of the lovely doctors at Sunderland Royal for my regular check up. After 18 months of dialysis my kidneys have now been ‘working’ for over 2 years, my blood results are the best (collectively) that they have been since this thing started and I feel better than I have in years.

There are 3 points to this blog and I’m getting to it I promise.

  1. Like I said, your link to life is fragile and can be over without warning at any time so if there is something you want to do, don’t put it off.
  2. We all have a dream, don’t give up on it
  3. Keep a positive mental attitude – it will get you a long way.

And on that note,

 

BTN

 

X

Leave a Reply

